Home :: Diaper Covers :: Flip Diaper Covers :: Customer feedback

Flip Diaper Covers

Flip Diaper Covers
 
(28 reviews)  

5 stars
 22 review(s)
4 stars
 3 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars
 2 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
28 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Sarah S.
Feb 24, 2014
We have been using only Flip covers (over GMD prefolds) for just over a year. They were perfect for a while. As our long and skinny guy became more mobile the fit is terrible. They droop and sag. The leg elastic on most of them (6 covers in all) has lost its elasticity so we have had some leaks out the leg holes. The wings sag no matter how tight we get the waist. For this price you can find a much better cover. IMO they are just not made very well. I would never suggest using Flips to a friend. I have bought other covers to replace my Flips.

Response from Green Mountain Diapers in 2016:
Please note the date of this review was Feb. 24, 2014. Flips now use a new proprietary elastic which is an excellent elastic - durable yet softly stretchy. Please do not worry about the elastics and also know they are covered by Cottonbabies 1 year warranty.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (257) / No (228)
Katie
Jan 21, 2014
I have several of these in the hook and loop closure, most of which we've been using for over a year. They have held up very well, and I don't remember ever having a leak with these. For the first few months after my daughter was born, I experimented with a few different covers and diapers, but when I got the cloth-eaze prefolds in size small and our first Flip cover, I knew I'd found the right solution for us. A year later, we're still using prefolds (now size medium, and just getting into large) and the same Flip covers. I actually like that they don't have a gusset; I had a few covers that had gussets and found that I'd sometimes get leaks at the seam. I also like the way these fit around my daughters legs; they aren't too tight, but not too loose, and very adjustable.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (246) / No (206)
Amanda
Jan 19, 2014
I love these covers. They were the first ones I ever used and they're still my favorite.
They're nice and trim with a comfortable, stretchy fit. We use them with pad-folded, large Cloth-eeze flats, and they fit perfectly.

The inner flaps keep the pad in place, so it doesn't slowly work itself up over the edge of the cover (like it tends to do with my Thirsties and Econobum covers).

We've had these covers for going on four years now, and they're just now wearing out, even with our rough handling (frequent bleaching, always tumble-dried). Definitely worth the price.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (225) / No (202)
Ana
Nov 22, 2013
If you're looking for a trim fitting cover look no further. This cover works great with a trifolded prefold, and I'm sure it would work well with a flat as well. I sometimes snappi a prefold on my son with these covers, but its a bit of a hassle because then I have to go back and "tuck in" the diaper at the hips. The material seems thinner than some other cover I've used. When the clementine cocer is on my son, I can see the diaper through the cover because the material is so thin. No leaks though, just a cosmetic issue to watch out for with the lighter colors.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (196) / No (229)
mofkids
Feb 7, 2014
I have used FLIP covers and Econobum for over 2 yrs and I love them both! The Flips are nice bc they have a flap to tuck the insert into. They have held up brilliantly and fit great and no leaks!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (195) / No (241)
Joli
Nov 13, 2013
These are good covers. They fit her perfect for a while but as she changed, others worked better. The exposed laminate is great for cleaning.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (154) / No (114)
LM
Oct 30, 2013
A very nice, durable cover. It fits best over trifolded or padfolded inserts and is pretty trim. You can wipe it out if it's just a pee diaper. It is nearly impossible to get poop off the leg elastic with wiping, however, and does not have much room over Kissas M/L fitteds. I would tuck the wings under themselves to make it work, but it did work and was much more bulletproof that way than the bumGenius pockets. Bear in mind that if you have a baby with a longer torso, they will likely outgrow this cover before potty training.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (149) / No (121)
mum4vr
Jun 4, 2014
We received a flip cover as a gift. We had planned to use wool pull on covers, and we do primarily. We LOVE our flip cover. It washes easily and dries quickly. It fit our tiny skinny baby when she was under 6 #, and still fits now she is a chubby toddler. Since we had not researched flip covers we failed to read the wash instructions and we machine dried it on hot numerous times before noticing on the care tag that hang dry is recommended. We fairly well ruined the aplix tabs by machine drying, but this tough flip is still in use. This cover has taken not only real-life wear and tear over the long haul, but also some carelessness and abuse. It has seen better days, but is still quite functional. What a great cover. I highly recommend this cover for anyone who does not want to learn to care for wool (and as a backup cover even for those who love wool)! I'm on the site today to shop for 2 more flips with snaps this time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (144) / No (111)
Krista
Feb 9, 2014
I love these covers. They are durable and perform well with no leaks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (139) / No (110)
Erin
Oct 26, 2013
We bought these to use when we started out cloth-friendly daycare. I love how you can stuff a trifolded prefold right into the flaps! Then the diaper is ready to go for the daycare teachers. At 6 months and 15 pounds, our babe is just on the first rise setting. I don't think they would have worked as a newborn! We also like them at night with a prefold + fleece-lined hemp doubler. They have never leaked.
The velcro is holding up nicely, but they are not blowout-proof (what is?). Overall, Flips are great covers. I just bought four more!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (134) / No (84)
Kimberly
Oct 24, 2014
Unlike some reviewers, we have never had a leak with Flips. We love them so much! The elastic never sags and it is always a perfect fit around our son's ever changing body. We always line dry them and they dry so much faster than the bulkier BumGenius pocket diapers. I love the extra flap at both ends that holds the cloth in place so it never pops out like it can with other designs. I also love that they grow with your baby so you don't have to keep buying new sizes and spending more money. We use the Green Mountain Eez prefold cloths and just trifold it, set it in the cover, and snap it on! So easy, even with a wiggly baby!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (131) / No (127)
Rachel
Feb 25, 2015
These covers make up the majority of my stash. I cannot say how they will hold up over a long time, but after 3 months of washing very other day my Flip covers still look great and work perfectly. I have never had a blowout or a leak in this cover. It fits well over anything I've tried-workhorse, padfolded, or snappied prefold.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (129) / No (81)
Jennifer
Apr 1, 2014
New to cloth diapering and this cover was first buy, i love this cover, have in blossom, just love the pink, no blow outs yet, easy to clean/ dry, and comfy for sweet baby. Want some more now!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (125) / No (90)
Amy L-J
Oct 25, 2013
Hands-down, my favorite daytime cover. I use these on my 16 lb 5-month-old on the middle rise setting with trifolded yellow-edge prefolds. The fit is great around the legs and waist, and I think they actually looks trim and is easier to use than pocket diapers and some all-in-ones, and I think it's an easier system to clean.

My only complaints are that there aren't very many prints, and I think it'd be nice if the snaps on the front of the diaper were contoured a bit, like I see in the Blueberry diapers. Once in awhile, to get these really snug, I have to snap in one more snap for the top snap, which looks a little dorky. But it's still my favorite cover.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (124) / No (140)
Lindsey Griffin
Mar 26, 2014
Oh my goodness. This is my FAVORITE diaper cover! It works wonders. It keeps my boys dry, even when they are heavy wetters at night!! This is a definite must and works so good with the prefolds, and cotton diapers! Ahhhhmazing!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (123) / No (129)
erin
Jun 2, 2015
i love flip covers over prefolds, the best and least expensive options. we have tried the other ai1's and this blows them out of the water
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (120) / No (113)
Elizabeth
Feb 22, 2015
The PUL isn't as thick as the kissas Marvel covers. They also do NOT have dbl leg gussets for extra leak protection.

I do like the stretchy tabs to get a snug fit however, these are NOT roomy enough for a chunky baby with prefold or fitteds. I'd say a thinner baby up to 18 lbs. We couldn't use it after that weight.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (109) / No (87)
Rebecca
Jul 17, 2014
These are good for a OS cover, thin but hold it in even without gussets. I think the stretch helps. It also helps with fitting different size babies. I like how they stay rectangles shaped when pre-stuff and stacking; I have a few of these for stash builders for long trips out. There was a period these did not fit well and we got sags...now they fit better. Sized are still my favorite for better fit. These are great stash builders and outing covers. Flip overnights are awesome in these!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (107) / No (60)
Halle
Apr 16, 2014
Flip covers are by far my favorite. They wear and wash well. We used these covers with GMD flats, pad folded! Such a great, low cost, low maintenance diapering system.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (106) / No (121)
Melissa
May 20, 2014
We have 3 of these covers with the snaps that we use with pad-folded flats. I used to use the Flip inserts when my son was younger and these covers hold up great with heavy use. They don't stain and are easy to wash and wipe clean after changes. The elastic does relax faster than with other covers, but I never have issues with leaks due to that. They are a little bit of a strange fit with my skinny toddler. He is 26 pounds and should be in the large setting, but the large setting is almost too big on him. Therefore we set the snaps to the medium setting. These should last until potty training for thin toddlers.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (106) / No (78)
Sarah
Nov 5, 2013
I love the flip snap covers. I originally started using them because I had an infant and a toddler in diapers. I didn't want to have to figure out which diaper cover went with which kid so I used these covers over pinned flats. They are AWESOME. They've gotten LOTS of use over the past 18 months that we've used them and they truly fit my large for his age three year old and they fit my 18 pound six month old. I find that they fit the red edge prefolds (usually I just tri-fold those) or the brown edge prefolds at the fullest rise and I use them both for day and for night covers. I just feel like I saved so much money with this one size cover because I've been able to use it for so long and likely won't need any other covers until potty learning. Baby #4 is coming soon and I don't feel like I need to purchase new covers for her (though even on the smallest rise I don't expect these to fit until 4 months or so). Great cover!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (105) / No (93)
Kristine J.
Jun 14, 2014
We have been using Flips with both of my children for about 9 months. We have a large stash of covers that we use with prefolds. I loved the Flips so much at first, they seems well made and I loved the variety of colors, but now after only 9 months the elastics are super loose and the diapers sag causing leaks. We are buying new, better made covers to replace all of our flips.
Response from Green Mountain Diapers in 2016:
Please note the date of this review was June 14, 2014. Flips now use a new proprietary elastic which is an excellent elastic - durable yet softly stretchy. Please do not worry about the elastics and also know they are covered by Cottonbabies 1 year warranty.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (99) / No (73)
MBC
Nov 5, 2013
I love this cover. We've used a total of 10 covers for 90% of diapering in the past year and a half with no broken snaps or holes in the waterproof cover, though there is some minor staining of the thin liner where the snaps are and on the PUL inside, but that's not unexpected. I did find that they work best with an insert or padfolded flat/prefold rather than a fitted or wrapped flat/prefold, as they didn't cover as well at the top and hips. I have used the Flip microfiber inserts and did not like them as much as natural fibers, they just couldn't keep up with my heavy wetter. We have the snaps only as I much prefer them over aplix, and at 25lbs and 19 months, we're still on the second rise snap. They will surely fit my toddler to potty training.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (98) / No (126)
Amber Thompson
Nov 8, 2014
----------
This is the only cover that I like for tri-folding. I especially like this cover with the new intermediate size prefolds! Very nice OS cover. And the stretchy tabs make me feel like it is more comfy for a mobile baby.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (91) / No (140)
Marisa
Feb 2, 2014
Great cover but does not fit until 12ish pounds in my experience. My 15 pounder is still on the lowest rise and the second to smallest leg/waist setting!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (86) / No (108)