Home :: For Newborns :: Disana Wool Pull-On Cover :: Customer feedback

Disana Wool Pull-On Cover

Disana Wool Pull-On Cover
 
(44 reviews)  

5 stars
 41 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
44 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Sarah
Oct 27, 2013
These were the first covers we bought and immediatly ordered a bunch more! We have a ton of them and our second child is now in them and they're still going strong. They're soft and just perfect. We felted a few of the smaller ones pretty good and they're great for newborns. They do require delicate care but if you can do that and you have a few they can really cover all your diaper cover needs. We use them full time at home. We have about 4 for each size and rotate through them as they're wet so we always have a nice dry one, usually ones drying from a wash. Be careful when washing as the colors bleed a little but its not bad. If you just want your baby in this for night purchase 2 size medium, they will seem huge but your baby will grow into them and they'll be fine at night and naps and you'll save $. A must have!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (261) / No (211)
Sumi
Jan 7, 2014
We were at the end of our rope with our heavy-wetting toddler, as every night it seemed she would need at least one change or there would be pee pee in the bed. I was just about to throw in the towel with cloth overnight and switch to disposables, when I read about how well wool is supposed to work for keeping the pee pee in the diaper where it belongs. So I took the chance, and bought two of these (the XL to get my big girl through potty training) and some XL prefolds.
We have not had another drop of pee in the bed since! (Which is great because we co-sleep and it's a pain to change the big bed so often...) I wish I had done wool from the beginning, because they are so soft and comfy for my daughter that she looks forward to wearing her "Woolies" at bedtime. Really, these are only about twice the price of a good quality PUL cover, but are at least three times as useful. I can't say enough good things about these.
(Toddler Pro-Tip: wash them weekly, since the older kiddo pee is pretty stinky and it's harder to get the stink out if it's been building up for a while.)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (247) / No (174)
Wendy
Nov 10, 2013
I'll start by saying I was never going to try wool. I am embarrassed to say I really thought there was no way wool would contain any sort of leak. And I only could imagine how bad they would smell. Well, before I found the wonderful cloth diaper world of GMD, I bought these with the Disana tie on nappies. The wool I loved immediately- the tie on nappies, not so much. And there began my love for wool. I ended up with many types and brands and wished I stuck with 2 of these in each size medium on up. I think you only need wool when your baby sleeps through the night and soaking more. I have 2 workhorses for each of my 2 babies in diapers for night that work beautifully with these. And YES you only need to wash them about ONCE a month with NO smell! Even if you are on a tight tight budget I recommend 1 in a large. It would be big, but would do the job for a long time for dry nights. (Don't have to wash soiled bedding often!) Then use a full cut PUL cover for the 1 night it needs time to dry.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (242) / No (191)
Marie
Nov 20, 2013
I have 3 of the size Large for my chubby 16 month old. They are just a bit "saggy" and she might be better off in the medium. We use ONLY wool covers all the time, day and night. She and her older brother cannot wear synthetics and especially not PUL. These are great. We have never had a messy leak, although we have had wet clothes because we forgot to change the baby and she was saturated. Nice thing is that even when we do that, she doesn't get a rash! This wool is breathable. We use workhorse fitteds with them and have not had a messy leak that resulted in needing a cleaning. The one downside is that you can't really put pants over these. They look fine without it, but we live in the country with lots of dirt, grass, leaves and dogs. So keeping the debris off the covers is a challenge! I think the lanolin is a "stuff" magnet! These covers look really cute with dresses and shirts all by themselves. And they are not hard to clean, although they do take a while to dry.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (233) / No (205)
Ann
Oct 26, 2013
This was my first wool purchase and I was not disappointed. The prep was simple-I watched the video and used the lanolin the lactation consultant had given me in the hospital. I wish I had switched to wool sooner. It totally cleared up a rash my son had had for two months. His eczema is exacerbated by heat (bummer since we live in the south!) but the natural breathable fibers fixed the problem. I would definitely agree with GMD sizing on this one. I usually push the size and leave my kids in smaller sizes bc I don't like all the bulk. However, the rise ends up too short on these and makes them more likely to sag and fall down if you try to keep them in smaller sizes. It really eliminated leaks and stink! I couldn't believe how odor resistant they are. Will definitely be buying one for baby gifts for any cloth diapering friends.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (227) / No (239)
Emma
Jul 9, 2014
This is my absolute favorite cover. We call it a butt-sweater. It is so soft and snuggly and ridiculously cute. We use it all the time at home and overnight. The second we get home, my baby is out of her clothes and into this cover and a t-shirt.

Underneath I use a GMD prefold or workhorse, often with a hemp/cotton doubler. I have never had a leak.

I have a 74-80 (6-12 mos) and it's rather big on my newborn, but it really doesn't matter. It's so snuggly pulled up to her armpits.

This is my first baby and I had no idea what to buy (thank you GMD for helping me figure that out!!!) so I have a bunch of different covers. I only use the PULs as backup. Wool is king! Think photos of your baby in printed PUL covers are cute? Wait til you get this gigantic fluffy wool butt-sweater on. It will bring tears to your eyes.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (178) / No (115)
Marisa
Feb 19, 2014
MY FAVORITE! I love wool and after trying these, decided that wool is the only kind of cover I want to use! These are thick and leakproof, never stink, and are easy to care for. I personally think that wool is a lot easier to care for than PULs. Don't be scared to give them a shot!

I only use the Disana for nighttime because it is so bulky and hard to fit under clothes. (For daytime use, I recommend Ruskovilla wool covers.) They also take very long to dry but that is only because they are so awesomely absorbent. This just means you will need more on hand if these are the only ones you use, but if using only for nighttime, 2 covers are sufficient in a rotation.

Every cloth diapering mama should at least give these a try because there really is nothing like cuddling a baby in wool!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (177) / No (109)
Heather
Dec 14, 2013
I had heard wonderful things about wool in general, but these covers in particular. I had cloth diapered three babies already and evolved from an exclusive microfiber pocket user to the point where I wanted the simplicity of all-natural fibers on my baby's skin, so I decided to dive in. I was a little nervous about the "you don't need to wash it every time you use it" mantra, but to my surprise, it's absolutely true. Air drying, occasional washing and lanolizing and ... that's it. Also, what you've heard about leak protection is totally true-- although it takes a few dips in the lanolin rinse and a bit of felting for the bullet-proof effect to take full effect.

If you're a newbie, be brave and give these a try. Invest in three or four covers (I have 3 disana and a trimmer Wool Lovers that I rotate) and you'll be set. They're that good.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (161) / No (126)
Katie
Nov 8, 2013
These are my favorite night-time covers! They're fantastic, breathable, waterproof, and comfortable. I found them easy to care for with only occasional washing necessary. The sizing was very flexible as they fit smaller babies loosely and are still good on larger babies without getting too tight. I didn’t use them too much under clothes, due to the bulkiness, but loved them at night – summer and winter!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (158) / No (135)
Heather
Nov 13, 2013
I love these wool covers. My son is now almost 10 months and I have used them since he was newborn - mostly at night. The great thing about them is that they are quiet. My son was able to sleep through nighttime changes when he was very young. There are no snaps and no velcro. I highly recommend them. I have three.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (156) / No (97)
Sarah
Feb 12, 2015
We had some early struggles with finding the right way to cloth diaper our baby so all three of us were happy. While at the end of my rope my husband found GMD and that was it for us! We discovered the best prefolds ever and had no leaks with Thirsties covers. But it got difficult at night. I struggled to change her diaper without waking her and would fumble and get frustrated to the point of feeling angry with the diapers and with my ineptitude. And with little sleep and a crying baby I'd feel irrationally mad with her.

Enter the workhorse and wool pull-on solution. I think the workhorse holds more liquid than the awesome-for-daytime prefold and this wool cover is perfect over it! Softer for sleeping, no twisting or little red elastic marks. Her bum isn't red in the morning because the wool breathes. And NO leaks after about two washes with probably-too-much lanolin. It is also quiet, fast and easy to change in the middle of the night.

At 7 months, 23 pounds and 28 inches I just ordered a large. I am a little bummed (no pun intended) that I have to start over on the "bullet-proofing" effect but its well worth the time involved!

Also I only washed it every month-ish :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (155) / No (102)
Jenny
Mar 20, 2014
WOW!!! I sure wish I had known about wool 21 years ago when my first child was born. I just started using it four months ago with my ninth baby and it is the best! Even my hubby thinks so!! He says it is the only cover he wants anymore.

They look adorable. My plan is to just use these and a shirt during the summer. During this cold winter we have had to put clothes over the covers, so we had to size up in clothing.

As for leaks and ease of use, these are amazing. So much better than disposables.

Be careful - I did shrink one a bit - even with being very careful with water temperature.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (154) / No (81)
BlueGreen
Nov 15, 2013
These covers are my nighttime favorites. So soft on baby/ toddler. No leaks. Long cuffs makes for great coverage over bulkier nighttime diapers on my toddler. I love that my kiddos are in natural fibers! Karen is right that these do just get better and better over time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (150) / No (118)
Katie
May 20, 2014
So I have been using these covers off and on for the last year or so. Lately I have been using them at night as bottoms for my 20 month old due to leaks. He has decided that he likes these even during the day when it's 80+degrees out. He will bring these to me instead of his regular cotton shorts. No leaks ever and lots of people comment on how comfy he looks. Loving these right now in place of other shorties. Keeps him warm but not to warm at night as well which is nice seeing as he is a little furnace. I reccomend them to all my friends that want a night time solution.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (150) / No (106)
Nicole
May 15, 2014
These covers are fantastic! Truly leak-proof at night after some light felting. I agree with GMD's recommendations to felt the covers and size up in anticipation of felting shrinkage. I must say, I did felt these covers in the washing machine rather than by hand--I used Dr. Bronner's unscented soap, the delicate cycle, and stopped the machine multiple times to check the course of the felting. Once the covers had felted to my liking, I removed them from the washer, gently rinsed the Dr. Bronner's out, and soaked them in some wool wash before lanolizing. Be careful if you are washing multiple new covers together--the colors do bleed some during the first few washes.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (148) / No (145)
TR
Dec 11, 2013
I use this cover during the day and at night. It is an excellent cover in workmanship and in performance. We had an extremely hot summer (90s, no AC), and my son was very comfortable in this cover. He skin was never hot when I changed him. It was always very cool in his diaper area! I use this cover for long trips out and overnight and have never had a leak. It does add more fluff, so sizing up in bottoms may be necessary, but well worth it! Excellent cover!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (141) / No (110)
JD's mama
May 27, 2014
I love everything about these! I have found them to be shockingly easy to care for, the gorgeous colors easily become part of an adorable outfit, they are great for year-round wear - which was a surprise to me that they'd be so great in hot weather, and most importantly, they are extremely durable - my son has really put these to the test! Pairs very nicely with the workhorses. Also, since they are so stretchy & therefore cover a pretty significant size range, you don't need a new size with every growth spurt. If you size up on your onsies, securing them over the cover, it does helps keep the seats cleaner for longer - but I do have jeans for my son (had to really look!) that accomodate these. He can't wear those jeans with anything else, mind you, but they work great. I'd say that especially if on a budget, these are a very good investment. You honestly don't need very many of them & they are absolutely hand-me-down quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (137) / No (106)
Nichole
Feb 16, 2015
This by far is the best wool cover we have ever used ( aside from what I have personally knitted). With another baby due in the summer, I plan to have two on hand to use over workhorse fitted diapers.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (133) / No (118)
Amy
Apr 16, 2014
I recently bought a size M Disana wool soaker for my 20 pound 14 month old. This is our first wool experience even though I've seen it recommended so many times. Her PUL covers have been causing a terrible stink with her nighttime/naptime diapers, so much I could smell the ammonia from another room! We live in AZ and never though wool would be the answer, but I was desperate. I love wool! It is so soft and keeps my dd so dry. No rashes or red marks in the morning and definitely no stink! In a matter of fact, there is little to no odor and once the cover airs out for a bit, it is ready to use again with no lingering odor. I am definitely buying another one for our new baby this fall! Highly,highly recommended!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (132) / No (103)
Denise
Oct 25, 2013
These are great in summer, cover & shorts all in one. I have 2 cream/natural and 2 in brown. I have used them day & night no problems!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (130) / No (171)
Rebecca
Dec 28, 2013
I love wool so much. I was really skeptical at first, but it proved to be the best material that is breathable, moisture resistant, and if needed extra absorbency. I use LanaCare during the day because I like the product better than Disana. I think LanaCare is softer and has a higher environmental standard. However, I was getting hit and miss leaks at night with LanaCare night covers so I switched to Disana, and my problem was solved because the cover reaches up to the baby's chest (which also keeps her warm and snuggled at night). No leaks and after a couple of washes the cover only got better. I only needed to get two covers for my nighttime issues, and with wool you probably can get away with only four covers (two for day and two for night), but is best if you can get five. I would suggest two LanaCare for day and two Disana for night.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (129) / No (95)
Erin Riches
Mar 28, 2015
I've been using wool covers exclusively at night since my daughter was 5 months old. I've tried a couple different brands, but ultimately, this is my favorite because it's soft and stretchy and easiest to get on a wiggly baby at night. The size medium was big on her at first, but now at almost 1 year, it *just* fits her. She's 24 pounds and has a pretty long torso. So I've come back to buy a second size large. It's roomy and should fit well through the summer and likely beyond. The one downside of this cover is that unlike some of the upcycled covers you might buy, it doesn't come pre-lanolized and the wet zone isn't felted. It takes a washing or two to get the absorbency up to speed. I took Karen's suggestion and used a couple Babee Greens wool liners between the diaper and the cover as back-up during this in-between period.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (128) / No (96)
Jwoo
Dec 23, 2014
I've ordered my son one of these in a Large. its huge but its soooo cute. We have always used upcycle and we consider it our fancy cover LOL. Hes sensitive to anything "fake" so cotton and wool it is. He loves this cover too. At 19 months he falls right to sleep anytime its on! Im expecting our last child in May and Im super excited to be ordering her a few. The softness is amazing and I think it will be darling on a newborn!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (121) / No (137)
Joli
Nov 13, 2013
These were the best cloth diapering purchase we made. We have only had one in each size, we use them only at night and there is Never a wet bed!
No other cover is as soft or stretchy as this. I wish we could afford to only use wool!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (113) / No (122)
Mandi
May 9, 2014
I love these covers so very much! They are simply bulletproof. My little guy seems so very comfortable in these covers.

The care is so easy, and the price can't be beat!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (113) / No (96)